Day: March 14, 2017

For the love of time travel, renew Timeless

First things first, time travel is extremely hard to do well. Either it comes off as cheesy and makes no sense whatsoever or it’s super complex and takes it’s self way to seriously. There are exceptions to that rule — Doctor Who anyone, although cheesy is the name of the game of a good deal of original Who — but for the most part it just doesn’t work. Which is a shame because I LOVE time travel — every time there is a new show, movie or book, I look into it. So, I was extremely eager for Timeless to air last fall. I streamed it on my phone, while sitting in my office at work trying to untangle the mysteries of Facebook’s most recent algorithm change. After work that night, I hooked my husbands laptop up to the TV and streamed it all over again. At the risk of sounding like a fangirl — I love everything about it. The basic premise of Timeless is this: A terrorist named Garcia Flynn (portrayed by the amazing Goran Visnjic of ER fame) storms into a secure scientific facility and steals a time machine so secret that even the government doesn’t know about it. He then sets about trying to reshape America’s history for reasons that only he knows. The Time Team, consisting of Lucy (Abigail Spencer, Rectify), a historian, Rufus...

Read More

Make slow-cooker corned beef and cabbage a St. Patrick’s Day staple

With St. Patrick’s Day right around the corner, corned beef and cabbage are a must-have for Friday’s dinner. However, weeknights often are busy, and coming home to cook a complex meal at the end of a marathon week is not something most people relish. This is where my good friend, the slow cooker, comes in. Anyone who knows me very well also knows I like to expound on the wonders of the crock pot. I can drop the ingredients in before work and come home eight hours later to a healthy, ready-to-eat meal. Say what?! A perfect use for a slow cooker — this week, in particular — is corned beef and cabbage. Ingredients Corned beef 1 seasoning packet (it usually comes with the corned beef) 4 liters of Coke, Dr. Pepper or Pepsi (I use Diet Coke) 1 head of cabbage, chopped into chunks or strips Instructions Place the corned beef into the slow cooker and rub in the seasoning packet. Pour your choice of soda over the top of the meat. Hold it down with a pair of tongs to make sure the pop covers it by 1 inch or more. Cook the corned beef on low for 12 hours. One hour before dinner, add cabbage to the slow cooker. I put my cabbage in about 45 minutes before I served it, because I don’t care for soft...

Read More

“Because You’re Mine,” perfectly timed for St. Patrick’s

Best-selling author Colleen Coble’s newest release, “Because You’re Mine,” is the perfect read to get into the mood for St. Patrick’s Day. The story involves Irish singer Alanna, whose husband was killed by a car bomb while their Celtic band is on tour. Due to complicated family dynamics, Alanna enters into a marriage in name only with her manager. But everything is not as it seems. Alanna deals with family problems, grief, and overbearing and hostile in-laws. It’s obvious Coble was inspired by the band Celtic Women and that she did her research. She is a master at suspense — the tension builds to a crescendo over the course of the novel. The setting is richly detailed, Gothic and beautifully described. Coble’s characters once again were complex and realistic. I really loved the way Coble winds music throughout the story line. It becomes a character in and of itself. Music, suspense, mystery — “Because You’re Mine” features all of these and more. Now, just so I don’t seem like I am gushing overly much, I must mention that one of the major plot points requires some suspension of disbelief — but I loved it anyway. Coble is one of those authors who just pulls readers in and makes them want to read her books in one sitting. Fans of Terri Blackstock, Lynette Eason and Irene Hannon definitely should enjoy...

Read More

Divall online
stock-exchange-online-1

Instagram Feed

Something is wrong.
Instagram token error.
1

Subscribe

Divall online
stock-exchange-online-1

Gravityscan Badge

Pin It on Pinterest

X