The Arkansas City Public Library (ACPL) has a full list of events planned for its summer reading program.

Summer reading will begin with a kickoff party from 5 to 7 p.m. May 24 at the library, 120 E. Fifth Ave.


Story time

Programs begin on June 1 with “Royal Game” story time at 10 a.m., followed by Lego Robotics at 2 p.m.

Story times will be at 10 a.m. every Wednesday through July 27, excluding July 6.

Summer story times feature guest readers, as well as crafts and games, according to a pamphlet from ACPL.


Special events

Three special presentations will take place at 10 a.m. on Tuesdays in June.

  • The Sedgwick County Zoo will return to ACPL on June 7 with the theme “Bigger, Stronger, Faster.” Zoo keepers will teach attendees about wild animals. The event is open to all ages.
  • Exploration Place will present “STEMtacular” on June 14. The presenter will teach about STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) in sports and the event will include six activities. Children in kindergarten through eighth grade are welcome to attend.
  • “Life in Space” will be presented by the Kansas Cosmosphere on June 21. Cosmosphere employees will discuss living in space, how astronauts deal with zero gravity, changes that living in space can cause to the human body and how astronauts manage their new diets. The program is open to all ages.

Also, Royal Gauntlet Birds of Prey will return to Arkansas City this summer with a special program at 1 p.m. June 15 at Cowley College. This free program is offered by ACPL in conjunction with the Arkansas City Area Arts Council’s Art and Poetry Camp.


Family game nights

On three Tuesdays in June, the Arkansas City Public Library will  be host to “Family Game Nights.”

ACPL will make games and puzzles available from 5 to 7 p.m. June 7, 14 and 21 for families to participate in this event.

Games will be available for all age ranges.


Sensory time

A new offering from the library for this summer will be “Sensory Time” for children.

Little ones can relax and play in sensory tubs that help them to develop fine motor skills, strengthen speech, and improve concentration.

Sensory time will be offered from 10 a.m. to noon June 28 and 30.


Imagination at Play Maker Faire

Those interested in stretching their creative muscles can participate at four “Imagination at Play Maker Faire” events.

The library’s craft room will be stocked and open to anyone interested in sparking some creativity.

Imagination at Play Maker Faire will be from 10 a.m. to noon June 2, 9, 16 and 23.


Children’s book clubs

A plethora of book club events are being offered throughout June and July.

  • Cupcake Book Club — 1 p.m. June 17.
  • Sew Zoey Book Club — 1 to 3 p.m. July 12. This book club, geared to children in fourth through seventh grades, will appeal to those who have an interest in fashion and sewing. Book club attendees will explore the popular series about a girl who feels like a misfit, but finds herself wishing she had more time when her sewing business takes off. The club will include a sewing lesson.
  • Lalaloopsy Book Club — 1 to 3 p.m. July 14. Club attendees will learn the basics of sewing with Lalaloopsy lacing cards. Lalaloopsy books will be available to borrow from the library, as well.
  • Lego Book Club — 1 to 3 p.m. July 19. More than just reading, this “book club” is focused on creation with Legos. Attendees then are invited to borrow Lego books to take home.
  • American Girl Book Club — 1 to 3 p.m. July 21. Attendees will have an opportunity to bring their American Girl dolls to this event, which will feature paper dolls and American Girl projects. The event will include discussion of the series, from Bitty Baby to historical characters. It is open to American Girl fans of all ages.
  • Mickey Mouse Book Club — 1 to 3 p.m. July 26. Kids who love Mickey and the gang are invited to attend this event featuring books, games and crafts.
  • Fancy Nancy Book Club — 1 to 3 p.m. July 28. Those interested in expanding their child’s vocabulary should bring their child to the Fancy Nancy Book Club.

Teen book clubs

Three book clubs geared toward teenagers will take place in July.

Young adults interested in dystopian literature are asked to bring their favorite dystopian novel to discuss at 2 p.m. July 15. This should appeal to fans of series such as “The Hunger Games” or “The Maze Runner.”

Fantasy will be the name of the game at 2 p.m. July 22. Fans of Percy Jackson and other fantasy novels should enjoy this club.

The final book club geared toward teens is the Realistic Fiction Book Club. This club is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, John Green and Gayle Forman.

Each of the clubs will include games and discussion of books in its featured genre.


Adult book clubs

Fans of romance, mystery, and science fiction and fantasy all will have the opportunity to discuss novels in their favorite genres during a series of adult book clubs planned in July.

  • Romance — noon July 15.
  • Mystery — noon July 22.
  • Science fiction and fantasy — noon July 28.

Those attending are asked to bring their favorite novel in the featured genre to discuss over tea or coffee.


Newman’s Quest

The library’s annual four-day summer camp will be held June 27-30.

This year’s theme is “Etzanoa” and it will highlight Native Americans’ way of life. It will address storytelling, native plants, history and traditional art techniques.

The camp is operated in conjunction with Cherokee Strip Land Rush Museum, Chaplin Nature Center and Ark City Arts.

Those planning to have their children attend this year’s camp will have morning and afternoons session from which to choose.

Registration for the camp will begin at 5 p.m. May 24 at ACPL. The camp is free to attendees who pre-register.


Other events

  • Lego Robotics — 2 p.m. June 1 and 8.
  • Teen Library Games — 2 p.m. June 2.
  • Life Emergency Preparedness — 2 p.m. June 3.
  • Teen Iron Chef — 2 p.m. June 9.
  • Coffee and Coloring — 6 to 8 p.m. June 10 at Steamy Joe, 216 W. Central Ave.
  • Teen Operation — 2 p.m. June 16.
  • Family Yoga — 2 p.m. June 22.
  • Teen Escape Room — 2 p.m. June 23.
  • Chair Yoga — 2 p.m. June 24.

One Comment

  1. I sometimes find myself wishing I could be participate in on the teen YA book club at my library. I only got into YA in my 30’s. Missed the boat there. Lol

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *