In just a few short years, Carrie Turansky has climbed quickly to the top of my “auto-buy” author list.

So when I heard about her newest novel, Across the Blue, I was doubly excited because it revolves around early aviation, a period of history I find fascinating.

Turansky did a wonderful job of slowly dishing out the details of James’ backstory.

It was done in a manner that makes you want to keep reading and discover more about this complex and interesting character.

I also thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Isabella. Watching her develop the strength to realize her dreams and buck the societal conventions of the time — not to mention her parent’s wishes — was wonderful.

The character’s faith grows and is tested throughout the novel in such a way that nothing feels forced or rushed.

Turansky always does a marvelous job of pacing her novels in a way that keeps you reading long after you should be in bed, and Across the Blue is no different.

There also are plenty of details about early aviation, turn-of-the-century newspapers and Edwardian society to keep any historical fiction enthusiast entertained.

Turansky once again has created a masterpiece that was a pleasure to read from beginning to end.

Across the Blue is a wonderful introduction for those who might not have discovered her previous novels, such as Governess of Highland Hall and Shine Like the Dawn.

Her work is perfect for fans of Sarah Sundin, Jen Turano and Sandra Byrd.

I received a complimentary copy of this novel. However, all opinions are my own.

Across the Blue, by Carrie Turansky

About the Book

Title: Across the BlueAcross the Blue, by Carrie Turansky

Author: Carrie Turansky

Genre: Historical romance

Release Date: February 20, 2018

Love soars to new heights in this Edwardian romance filled with adventure, faith and inspiration, but how much will it cost Bella and James to follow their dreams?

Isabella Grayson, the eldest daughter of a wealthy, English newspaper magnate, longs to become a journalist, but her parents don’t approve. They want her to marry well and help them gain a higher standing in society.

After she writes an anonymous letter to the editor that impresses her father, her parents reluctantly agree that she can write a series of articles about aviation and the race to be the first to fly across the English Channel, but only if she promises to accept a marriage proposal within the year.

When James Drake, an aspiring aviator, crashes his flying machine at the Graysons’ new estate, Bella is intrigued. James is determined to win that race across the channel and gain the prize Mr. Grayson’s newspaper is offering. He hopes it will help him to secure a government contract to build airplanes and redeem a terrible family secret.

James wants to win Bella’s heart, but his background and lack of social standing make it unlikely her parents would approve. If he fails to achieve his dream, how will he win the love and respect he is seeking? Will Bella’s faith and support help him to find the strength and courage he needs when unexpected events turn their world upside-down?

Click here to purchase your copy!

About Carrie Turansky

Carrie Turansky


Carrie Turansky has loved reading since she first visited the library as a young child and checked out a tall stack of picture books.

Her love for writing began when she penned her first novel at 12. She is now the award-winning author of 19 inspirational romance novels and novellas.

Carrie and her husband, Scott — who is a pastor, author and speaker — have been married for more than 30 years and make their home in New Jersey.

They often travel together on ministry trips, and to visit their five adult children and five grandchildren.

Carrie leads women’s ministry at her church, and when she is not writing, she enjoys spending time working in her flower gardens and cooking healthy meals for friends and family.

She loves to connect with reading friends through her website, Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter.

Guest Post from Carrie Turansky

Following Your Dreams

By Carrie TuranskyAcross the Blue, by Carrie Turansky

In Across the Blue, Bella Grayson and James Drake both go to great lengths to pursue their dreams. Bella longs to become a journalist and write for one of her father’s newspapers, but in 1909 England, aristocratic young women did not work as journalists.

A young woman’s path was set by the unwritten rules of society. At 18, she was presented at court, and then she took part in the London social season and hoped for a marriage proposal from a young man from a wealthy family, with an estate and title. Marriage, having children, and taking part in social and charitable events were the prescribed course for their lives.

But Bella has a different future in mind. She wants to marry for love, and she won’t settle for anything less. She also wants to write articles about the important events of the day that will inform and inspire people. She wants to be a world-changer, and that is a very unique role for a woman in England in the Edwardian Era. At that time, women didn’t have the right to vote yet and very few pursued any kind of career.

Across the Blue, by Carrie TuranskyJames is an aviation pioneer, and his dream is to build an airplane that will allow him to be the first to fly across the English Channel. This is no easy accomplishment, and he faces many challenges as he pursues his dream. Aviation is brand new. Wilbur Wright demonstrated his airplane in France the year before and stunned Europeans with his skill.

With the help of his mentor, Professor Steed, James conducts experiments, refines his design and makes countless test flights. It takes great courage and determination to overcome setbacks and make it through near-fatal crash landings, but James has his heart and mind set on perfecting his airplane and reaching his goal.

What about you? What hopes and dreams do you have for your future? What goals would you like to accomplish? As you think about your dreams and future plans, I hope you’ll gain some insight from James and Bella’s experiences in Across the Blue.

When they considered the cost of pursuing their dreams, they realized their plans and choices impacted others, as well as themselves. James and Bella believed striving for their dreams is important, but they learned it must be balanced with commitments to family and friends, and most of all a commitment to following the Lord on the path He has for them.

Across the Blue, by Carrie TuranskyFollowing our dreams and working toward accomplishing our goals, especially those the Lord puts on our heart, is important. However, sometimes we may have to put our dreams on hold and wait for the right time and season.

We don’t need to be discouraged when this happens. As we listen to the Lord, and ask Him to guide and direct us, He will show us the right path at the right time to follow it.

Just like James and Bella, I hope you’ll pursue your dreams, but also hold them with an open hand, allowing the Lord to guide and direct you each step of the way.

When you do, I’m confident you’ll be headed toward seeing your dreams become reality in His time and in His way. “For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord; plans to prosper you, not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future” (Jeremiah 29:11).

With that wonderful promise in mind, I hope you’ll enjoy reading Across the Blue, and joining Bella and James as they they pursue their dreams.

You’re in for high-flying adventure, romance and inspiration, and I can’t wait to share this new story with you. Happy reading to you!

Blog Stops

Bookworm Mama, February 22

Carpe Diem, February 22

Blogging With Carol, February 22

Reflections From My Bookshelves, February 23

Reading Is My SuperPower, February 23

Karen Sue Hadley, February 23

Christian Bookaholic, February 24

Mary Hake, February 24

Among the Reads, February 24

The Power of Words, February 25

History, Mystery & Faith, February 25

D’S QUILTS & BOOKS, February 25

Maureen’s Musings, February 26

Rachel’s Back Talk, February 26

Smiling Book Reviews, February 26

Radiant Light, February 27

Faithfully Bookish, February 27

The Fizzy Pop Collection, February 27

Bibliophile Reviews, February 28

Remembrancy, February 28

Two Points of Interest, February 28

Tell Tale Book Reviews, March 1

Book by Book, March 1

Bigreadersite, March 1

proud to be an autism mom, March 1

Pause for Tales, March 2

Have A Wonderful Day, March 2

margaret kazmierczak, March 2 (Interview)

Pursuing Stacie, March 3

Neverending Stories, March 3

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, March 3

Texas Book-aholic, March 4

Janices book reviews, March 4

Jeanette’s Thoughts, March 4

Simple Harvest Reads, March 4 (Guest post from Mindy)

Moments Dipped in Ink, March 5

My Writer’s Life, March 5

Baker Kella, March 5

Kat’s Corner Books, March 6

A Greater Yes, March 6

A Baker’s Perspective, March 6

Romances of the Cross, March 7

Henry Happens, March 7

For The Love of Books, March 7


To celebrate her tour, Carrie is giving away a grand prize of an autographed copy of Shine Like the Dawn and $30 gift card to!!

Click below to enter. Be sure to comment on this post before you enter to claim 9 extra entries!