Graduation for eight students in Cowley College’s paramedic program was held Oct. 10 in the Earle N. Wright Community Room on the school’s main campus in Arkansas City.


Courtesy photo


The program completed the associate of applied science degree requirements for the graduating members of the class:

  • Janna Chanthabouly;
  • Katherine Chanthabouly;
  • Brooke McDowell;
  • Jennifer Patterson;
  • Greg Simpson;
  • Luke Steele;
  • Travis Unruh;
  • Michaela Youngers.

The event began when Chris Cannon, EMS program director and chair of the Health and Human Services Department, welcomed those in attendance.

Cannon thanked the graduates for their extensive work during the program and the graduates’ families for supporting them during a difficult year.

Deryk Ruddle, former lead paramedic instructor at Cowley College, delivered the keynote address to the graduating class.

Cannon and Steve Storm, former paramedic instructor at Cowley, conferred the certificates and presented the honor awards for the class.

McDowell was the program honor graduate, Unruh was the winner of the Lyle E. Eckhart Award and Youngers was the Dr. Patrick J. McAtee Award recipient.

Cowley paramedic graduates treat more than 100,000 patients each year.

Cowley currently has three paramedic programs — one at the Allied Health Education Center in Winfield, one in Andover through a partnership with Butler Community College, and an online program through partnerships with Neosho County Community College and Flint Hills Technical College.

All of the graduates of the Cowley paramedic program were presented with challenge coins to honor their accomplishment.

This information was provided by Cowley College Director of Institutional Communications and Public Relations Rama Peroo.