The fifth installment in Alex Grecian’s Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad, “Lost and Gone Forever,” is about as high-octane as a Victorian mystery can be.

Lost and Gone Forever

The story starts with a character, who no longer remembers who he is, escaping from a fortress of sorts.

As the story unfolds, a picture begins to form and intersecting story lines converge.

All of the characters were interesting and multilayered, including the antagonists, which is a nice change from many historical mysteries.

The way Grecian made all of the story lines connect was a thing of beauty.

However, my favorite device he used was the atmosphere invoked in the novel via the weather.

The London fog was a nice touch of mirroring the character’s internal fog, as well as adding loads of actual atmosphere.

Grecian’s setting easily pulls readers into his story and the plot keeps them turning the pages.

The author clearly understands what it takes to write a compelling mystery.

I loved the novel and am looking forward to catching up with the previous four novels.

“Lost and Gone Forever” will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Charles Todd.

I gave the novel four out of five stars on Goodreads.


About the author

Grecian

Grecian

Alex Grecian is the nationally bestselling author of the Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad series, as well as of the long-running and critically acclaimed graphic novel series “Proof” and new series “Rasputin.”

“The Yardwas nominated for the Barry Award and the Strand Magazine Critics’ Award, and was named one of the 2012’s best 10 crime novels by Kirkus Reviews.

“The Black Country” was nominated for several awards, including the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association Dilys Award and the Killer Nashville Silver Falchion. “The Devil’s Workshopwas named to Suspense Magazine’s best-of-year list.

Grecian lives in the Midwest with his wife and son, and is working on the next novel of Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad.

I was provided a free copy of this book. However, all opinions are my own.

Save

Save