Dover, England, 1808: Officer Alexander Moore goes undercover as a gambling gentleman to expose a high-stakes plot against the king — and he’s a master of disguise, for Johanna Langley believes him to be quite the rogue … until she can no longer fight against his unrelenting charm.

All Johanna wants is to keep the family inn afloat, but when the rent and hearth payment are due at the same time, where will she find the extra funds? If she doesn’t come up with the money, there will be nowhere to go — other than the workhouse, where she’ll be separated from her ailing mother and 10-year-old brother.

Alex desperately wants to help Johanna, especially when she confides in him, but his mission — finding and bringing to justice a traitor to the crown — must come first, or they all end could up dead.

Once again, Michelle Griep has created a fun, fascinating read that kept me guessing who was behind everything.

She brings the historical Regency England setting to life by organically sprinkling in just the right amount of facts throughout to make the story feel authentic.

I also love novels that touch on the Napoleonic Era, and this one was no exception.

Our hero, Alex, is looking for a traitor and must surround himself with people he can’t completely trust to discover the traitor’s identity.

The heroine, Johanna, is battling her own issues and facing severe financial struggles.

Along with the two main characters, there is an all-star cast of secondary characters, from the delightful Thomas to the cringe-inducing Tanny Needler.

Some of the names Griep comes up with for these characters sound like something out of a Charles Dickens novel.

There was so much going on in this novel that it became hard to put down. The pacing was fantastic and the plotting top-notch.

I truly enjoyed this novel from the first page I read to the last.

While this is a companion to Brentwood’s Ward, it also stands on it own.

Griep’s work is perfect for fans of Kristi Ann Hunter, Julie Klassen and Sarah E. Ladd.

I received a complimentary copy of this novel. However, all opinions are my own.

About Griep

Michelle Griep has been writing since she first discovered blank wall space and Crayolas.

She seeks to glorify God in all that she writes — except for that graffiti phase she went through as a teenager.

Griep resides in the frozen tundra of Minnesota, where she teaches history and writing classes for a local high school co-op.

An Anglophile at heart, she runs away to England every chance she gets, under the guise of research.

Really, though, she’s eating excessive amounts of scones while rambling around a castle.

Griep is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and the Minnesota Christian Writers Guild.

Keep up with her adventures on her blog, “Writer Off the Leash,” or visit www.michellegriep.com.