Sarah E. Ladd’s “Dawn at Emberwilde” was a thoroughly enjoyable historical romance, featuring a dash of suspense.

Dawn at Emberwilde

Dawn at Emberwilde

Isabel Creston is stunned to learn she has living relatives looking for her who wish to take her in.

However, when she and her sister arrive at Emberwilde, not everything is as great as the lavish exterior makes it appear.

First off, I love Ladd’s prose and description — which had me imagining Austenesque estates.

You can tell that Ladd drew part of her inspiration from the classic author.

Isabel is a sweet, fish-out-of-water character who shows spirit at times, but is reserved at others.

Her caring and compassion for the less fortunate obviously are understandable, given her past, and are aspects everyone should endeavor to emulate.

Colin, the local magistrate, is a strong character who always does what he thinks is the right thing.

Ladd adds just enough suspense to keep readers flipping the pages, but not so much that it is unbelievable in the Regency era.

I really enjoy suspense added into historical fiction.

There is a very light love triangle in this novel, but it is in no way overpowering.

The spiritual message in the novel was on point, but not knock-you-over-the-head, blatantly spelled out for readers.

Fans of Julie Klassen and Kristie Anne Hunter definitely should give this author a try.


About the author

Sarah E. Ladd received the 2011 Genesis Award in historical romance for “The Heiress of Winterwood.” She is a graduate of Ball State University and has more than 10 years of marketing experience.

Ladd lives in Indiana with her amazing family and spunky Golden Retriever. For more information, follow her on Facebook or Twitter.

Save

Save

Save