President Barack Obama on Oct. 20 declared a disaster for the early September flooding in Cowley County.

By doing so, he opened the door to federal money that will help with repairs locally.

The flooding took place Sept. 2-12, causing many local rivers and streams to rise well above flood stages.

The declaration came 10 days after Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback requested federal assistance.

While individual assistance was not requested as part of this declaration, other forms of assistance will be offered.

This public assistance is designated for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

In addition to Cowley County, federal disaster assistance also is available in the following counties: Cheyenne, Ellis, Graham, Greenwood, Kingman, Norton, Rooks, Russell, Sedgwick and Sumner.

The Hazard Mitigation Grant Program provides assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.

All designated areas in Kansas are eligible for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State of Kansas and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

The number designation for this declaration is FEMA-4287-DR. The federal coordinating officer is Christian Van Alstyne, of the National FCO Program.