Grace Mallory is tired of running, of hiding. But when an old friend sends an after-hours telegraph transmission warning Grace that the man who has hunted her for nearly a year has discovered her location, she fears she has no choice. She can’t let the villain she believes responsible for her father’s death release his wrath in Harper’s Station, the town that has sheltered her and blessed her with the dearest friends she’s ever known.

Amos Bledsoe prefers bicycles to horses and private conversations over the telegraph wire to social gatherings with young ladies who see him as nothing more than an oddity. His telegraph companion, the mysterious Miss G, listens eagerly to his ramblings every night and delights him with tales all her own. For months, their friendship — dare he believe, courtship? — has fed his hope that he finally has found the woman God intended for him. Yet when he takes the next step to meet her in person, he discovers her life is in peril, and Amos must decide if he can shed the cocoon of his quiet nature to become the hero Grace requires.

Karen Witemeyer returns to the beloved Harper’s Station in her newest release, “Heart on the Line.”

“Heart on the Line,” by Karen WitemeyerThis novel centers on Grace, Harper’s Station’s telegraph operator, as she faces shadows from her past. When a fellow operator and long-distant friend, Amos, intercepts a message to Grace warning of a danger, he takes off to help, even though he might not be the strong and silent type.

Witemeyer does a marvelous job of crafting layered characters who make readers really become invested in the story.

The setting of Harper’s Station is wonderfully described and creates a wonderful backdrop for the story to unfold.

Witemeyer quickly is becoming one of my favorite writers in the Christian Western genre.

Fans of Janette Oke, Jane Kirkpatrick and Regina Jennings definitely should check out her work.

About Karen Witemeyer

Karen Witemeyer
Witemeyer

Winner of the HOLT Medallion and the Carol Award, and a finalist for the RITA and Christy awards, best-selling author Karen Witemeyer writes historical romance to give the world more happily-ever-afters.

Witemeyer makes her home in Texas, with her husband and three children.

Learn more about Karen and her books at www.karenwitemeyer.com.

Save

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *